Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Does anyone know of either any systems or have house rules that model skill advancement via the Dreyfus model of skill acquisition?

share|improve this question

As this is a game-recommendation question, please adhere to the FAQ, the rules for subjective questions as outlined in Good Subjective, Bad Subjective and our rules for game recommendations. All responses must cite actual experience or reference others' experiences!

Maybe a duplicate or at least closed linked to… – Sardathrion Sep 21 '11 at 13:30
The Dreyfus model, as described on this page, breaks down skill acquisition into five discrete levels. Sounds like White Wolf's Storyteller/ing to me. – Jadasc Sep 21 '11 at 14:04
The five model does not allow for innovation thus the sixth stage. But yeah, good comment. – Sardathrion Sep 21 '11 at 14:07
Thanks. I don't think it's good enough as an answer, as there's no attempt in that mechanic to "model" anything in particular. But, if you wanted to do a quick-and-dirty version of those ideas, the WW system wouldn't do badly -- especially with the "double cost at character creation to have a 5" rule. – Jadasc Sep 21 '11 at 14:14
Such a system is pretty unlikely to exist, because at best most games don't model the cognitive features of a person, just their behaviour; and skill systems are so focused on task outcome that a skill system that bothers with the fine details of why they succeeded/failed at the cognitive-competence level would be a strange beast indeed. – SevenSidedDie Sep 21 '11 at 15:47
up vote 4 down vote accepted

You could argue that any skill system which has five (or so) levels could be mapped onto the Drefyus model. White Wolf's Storyteller has up to five dots for skills; Shadowrun 4 typically limits skills to 6. (Edit: in fact, I'm almost positive that one of the SR3 handbooks listed what one typically did at different skill levels in a Dreyfus-like way--but it was just flavor text.) They don't, however, limit what a character can do to the Dreyfus categories.

But you could also argue that you don't want to model advancement via the Dreyfus model given that it's somewhat contentious and not extremely well validated. For example, in Review of Educational Research v. 76 pp. 383-412 (2006), Unveiling Professional Development: A Critical Review of Stage Models by Gloria Dall’Alba and Jörgen Sandberg, we find that:

Empirical research has shown not only that embodied understanding of practice forms the base for the development of professional skill but also that experienced and inexperienced professionals understand and engage in practice in contrasting ways [long list of refs]. This is the case even at one level of skill acquisition within the Dreyfus stage model (see, for example, [lots more refs]).

That is, you see lots of variation within a "level", to the point where it's somewhat questionable whether there even is a level. Therefore, it's not at all clear to me that Dreyfus has actually done any better than role-playing games at modeling advancement in an abstract way.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.