Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I'm designing a monster which through virtue of high intelligence and me being evil, that has 13 class levels.

However, I also want to bump up the save DC on its special ability. The feat Ability Focus will do just that, however it is a monster feat and not a regular feat, so I do not know if it is technically legal to take a monster feat when the creature would normally get a feat for her class levels.

I'll probably do it either way, but I want to know if I'll have to explain it as GM fiat or not.

share|improve this question
I know it's not an answer, but you're probably worrying about it a bit too much. Monster building is more art than science or law. – C. Ross Sep 25 '11 at 18:49
@C. Ross - I agree, I'm more asking the question for when everything is said and done, the players will say "well how did she...", and I just want to know if I'll have to say I fluffed it or not. – Cthos Sep 25 '11 at 19:09
up vote 14 down vote accepted

Yes. According to the Pathfinder SRD, even player characters can take monster feats if they happen to qualify:

Monster Feats

Most of the following feats apply specifically to monsters, although some player characters might qualify for them (particularly Craft Construct).

share|improve this answer
I forgot Craft Construct was in Monster Manual/Bestiary. It still doesn't make sense. – C. Ross Sep 25 '11 at 19:55

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.