Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In DFRPG, characters can invoke another character's aspects by spending fate points. When a character does this, does the fate point go to the GM, or does it go to the character whose aspect was just invoked?

share|improve this question
Ok explain a little more Do you mean compel another player or do you invoke another players. do you have an example Player 1 has aspect epic wiseass player 2 then says player 1's character is a wiseass so he would get in this fight first?? An example would help – Ax Kidson Nov 10 '11 at 3:27
@ax kidson if i understand correctly from the perspective of the person spending the fate point it's an invoke and from the person getting the point it's a compel. To use your example player 1 pays a fate point to invoke player 2's aspect epic wiseass so that player 2 is compelled to play into that aspect. – DForck42 Nov 14 '11 at 16:51
up vote 15 down vote accepted

Was reading through and found this blurb on YS 106:

The procedure to invoke an aspect that isn't on your character is precisely the same as a regular invocation: just declare how that aspect is relevant, spend a fate point, and take a +2 or a reroll. The only thing to keep in mind is that, if you're invoking an aspect on another PC or on a NPC to gain an advantage over them, that character will receive the fate point you spent, either at the end of the exchange (in conflict, see page 197) or at the end of the scene (outside of conflict).

share|improve this answer
I appreciate the citation, but could you unpack it a bit please? Particularly, does "invoking an aspect on another PC or on an NPC" mean any invoke on a roll against them, only aspects that are actually on the PC or NPC being opposed? – BESW Apr 11 '13 at 2:14
@besw I read it as any roll where you spend a fate point to use one of their aspects against them. So let's say an npc has vanity as an aspect, and we're in a social conflict, i could throw a gnarly comment attacking his looks and invoke his vanity aspect with a fate point. i would get the +2 and he would get the fate point. – DForck42 Apr 11 '13 at 3:46
But what about if I invoke a Tough Crowd aspect that's on the location, instead? Does he get the point even though the aspect is on him, or does the point evaporate? – BESW Apr 11 '13 at 3:51
@besw since that's the envronment's aspect, i believe it poofs. – DForck42 Apr 19 '13 at 14:34

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.