Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Slayer stances only benefit normal attacks, but Wicked Strike can be used in place of a melee basic attack.

Or can you even use this ability? I was using the character builder on the D&D Insider website, using a human, and it lets me pick one of the normal fighter abilities for his third at-will, so I'm not sure if it's just confused.

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

No, the stance specifically says that it interacts with melee basic attacks. Wicked Strike is not a melee basic it is used in place of one. Since the stance is not the power generating the melee basic it should not grant a bonus when Wicked Strike is substituted in.

share|improve this answer
    
Huh. Wicked Strike does seem to be an edge case as the wiki (community.wizards.com/charop/wiki/Broken/Fixed) implies: "Follow-up Blow and Wicked Strike Infinite attack loop. Follow-up Blow allows you to make a melee-basic attack when you hit with a power that is not a melee-basic attack. When you make the MBA, replace it with Wicked Strike, relying on the "in place of" language to allow you to use it as your attack, while keeping it from "counting as" an MBA." –  Brian Ballsun-Stanton Oct 2 '11 at 5:57
    
Yeah, they fixed that with an errata that says you can only use Follow-Up Blow once per round. –  Iain Anderson Oct 2 '11 at 7:54
add comment

No

Wicked Strike reads:

You can use the power in place of a melee basic attack

Which means that when the opportunity to make a melee basic attack presents it's self, you may opt to use Wicked Strike in place of the melee basic attack, but in doing so it does not inherently become a melee basic attack, and so the Slayer's melee basic attack damage bonus stances do not come into effect.

Were the power to read

This power counts as a melee basic attack

You could make a good argument that the Slayer would get to double dip.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.