Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Following on from this (can-you-use-a-spelljammer-ship-to-get-to-ravenloft) question, I seem to remember that Krynn is similarly impossible to get to, mainly for plot reasons since no character on Krynn can get higher than level 18.

Anyone any thoughts on this?

share|improve this question
1  
I don't remember that note in the original Spelljammer supplements; indeed I could have sworn I remembered just the opposite: Krynn, along with Greyhawk and the Forgotten Realms, were all examples of spheres ... Of course, it's been a while, and I only had the original 2nd-edition books on it, so much may have changed! –  John Rudy Aug 24 '10 at 20:41
add comment

6 Answers 6

up vote 11 down vote accepted

Apparently there was an entire book on the topic of Krynnspace. There's since been a fan book updating that material. The Dragonlance FAQ confirms the connection. So Krynn looks pretty accessible, assuming you want that in your game.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Adding to Bryant's through answer, I would add the series of Spelljammer novels, the Cloakmaster cycle, starts with a Spelljamming ship crashing on Krynn.

The bit about high level characters being forbidden by the gods of Krynn is mentioned in the Dragonlance sourcebook for 2nd ed, but unless your party is already above 18th level I don't see how that would interfere with Spelljamming fun in Kyrnnsapce.

share|improve this answer
add comment

It's as easy as you want it to be. It's your game.

On a more helpful note, I can only echo what others have said; as I recall, Krynnspace is one of the major locales in Spelljammer, so that would suggest that it's not difficult to reach.

share|improve this answer
add comment

I cannot cite a source for you, but I recall this as well.

Golden rule is trump here: if you want to go, you can (even if no-one else can).

share|improve this answer
add comment

I think that post-Dragons of the Summer Flame there was some sort of shakeup regarding Krynn's place in the cosmology, preventing access to the crystal sphere by spelljamming vessels. However, I can't find a source for this claim. I thought it might have been in On Hallowed Ground, but I seem to have been mistaken.

share|improve this answer
    
This was most likely to do with the Chaos War and all the gods leaving. That probably bumped Krynn's crystal sphere into something of an alternate prime material plane. With that time travel also became impossible, so in a sense Krynn got the Ravenloft treatment without being horrible. –  migo Mar 17 '11 at 22:44
add comment

Agreed, there are only a handful of TSR approved sources of Spelljammer material out there and one of them is the cloakmaster series. Most of the first book of that series takes place in Krynnspace. Besides, they've got tinker gnomes... nuff said.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.