Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Dwarven Thrower:


This weapon can be used as a heavy thrown weapon with a range of 6/12.

Does the fact that it "can be used as" indicate that it is a heavy thrown weapon for purposes of magical weapons returning to the user?

Citations would be nice.

share|improve this question
This question asked because of annoying precedent in the game where I'm planning on using a dwarven thrower as a central component of a scout with throw & stab. I'm looking for an argumentative chain of citations to show that dwarven throwers do indeed return. – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Oct 4 '11 at 23:58
I'm 98% certain it does count because of the FAQ entry not specifying that the weapon's primary purpose has to be a thrown weapon...but I have no hard citations to that other than Iain's answer. – Cthos Oct 5 '11 at 0:08
@BrianBallsun-Stanton you must play in one of the most rules lawyerly groups :P – Simon Withers Oct 5 '11 at 17:37
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Based off of @SevenSidedDie's comment on @IainAnderson's answer:

Magic Thrown Weapons return to the thrower after an attack.

If we assume that after some attack with dwarven thrower, that it does not return to the thrower after the attack, then it must not have been a thrown weapon.

Since the dwarven thrower was thrown, then it's can't not be a thrown weapon, and so it returns.

share|improve this answer

Question 13 of the DnD Insider FAQ: 13. I am using a magical thrown weapon as part of an area of effect power. If I am attacking multiple enemies within that area, do I need multiple weapons, or will one suffice?

One is enough in this case. Magical thrown weapons return to you after each attack, so you’ll be able to use it against each enemy as part of using your power.

Perhaps I don't understand your question, but all magical thrown weapons return to the thrower. I would assume any non-missile-weapon that has a range attached to it would count as a magical thrown weapon.

share|improve this answer
Yes. However, the base weapon is not a thrown weapon. The question is: does "can be used as" turn it into a thrown weapon? (This is a stupidly pedantic question, I know, but I've asserted the same thing you have.) – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Oct 5 '11 at 0:15
@Brian First assume it doesn't work. Then it cannot be used "as a thrown weapon". Since that's a contradiction, the assumption is wrong. – SevenSidedDie Oct 5 '11 at 0:38
Cool. That's really good logic, actually. Disproving the contrapositive, right ? – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Oct 5 '11 at 2:22
The question is whether or not the "heavy thrown" keyword is added to the weapon's property list. I argue it is, though I'm working on formulating why – wax eagle Oct 5 '11 at 11:46
@SevenSidedDie should your comment be an answer? – Simon Withers Oct 10 '11 at 2:25

Yes, because dwarven throwers have existed in previous editions, and there they specifically gain the returning special ability. It's the whole point of their iconic deal.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.