Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In the early adventure, Siege of Borodin's Watch I found this curious statement:

If the militants are bloodied, they shift back and spend their second wind, jumping back into the thick of battle at the start of their next turn.

Do monsters get a second wind? Have they ever?

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

Monsters do not normally get a Second Wind.

From Second Wind:

Unless otherwise noted in the statistics block of a monster or a nonplayer character, this action is available only to player characters.

However they do have Healing Surges, they just lack an easy way to use them during combat.

From Healing Surge:

Monsters and NPCs: As a general rule, monsters and nonplayer characters have a number of healing surges based on their tier:

  • one healing surge at the heroic tier (1st–10th levels)
  • two healing surges at the paragon tier (11th–20th levels)
  • three healing surges at the epic tier (21st–30th levels).
share|improve this answer
That's what I thought. Nice quoting :) – Brian Ballsun-Stanton Oct 21 '11 at 20:23

4E monsters, by default, have healing surges depending on their tier, but no way to access them in combat (unless they have a friendly Leader heal them, or use a potion of healing).

But specific beats general, and if the monster's description says it has a second wind, it does.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.