If I knock a creature prone and also manage to immobilize it (or if I prone an immobilized creature of I immobilize a prone creature) can it stand up on its next turn?
Put simple: Can I stand up from prone if I'm immobilized?
Yes, a prone immobilized creature can stand up.
The definition for Immobilized could seem a little fuzzy upon first reading:
Until you note that Move is explicitly defined:
An easy way to sum it up would be to say that the creature cannot leave it's square by it's own actions while immobilized.
The Rules compendium states this more clearly than previous rules sources:
If you decided to rule that being immobilized prevented creatures from moving at all then you should probably also rule that an immobilized creature can't:
I should note that there are no conditions that explicitly prevent a creature from standing up. Neither Dazed or Restrained will prevent it. Conditions like Stunned, or Helpless would do the trick, but only because they prevent the creature from taking any action at all.
Yes. Being immobilized only prevents you from moving out of your current space.
If someone is standing in your space with you, however, you must shift out of your space to stand from prone, and this is disallowed by being immobilized.
I don't agree with Pat Ludwig here.
You cannot stand up if you are prone and immobilized!
From the way I read it:
1) Standing up = move action.
Let me break down the 'Move' confusion. If every square represents 5ft then every PC that is above 5ft is technically shifting into another square when they stand up. With this in mind, standing up is considered a shift.
Standing Up = Shifting