Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If someone tries to hit a shadow created by the Project Image spell, does someone have to roll to hit? If so, does it have a low AC like a Figment, before they roll Will to disbelieve, or does it work differently?

share|improve this question
    
Wouldn't it just be the caster's ac? It doesn't say explicitly, but it is a duplicate that mirrors the actions of it's creator. I looked up the spell here: pathfinder-srd.nl/wiki/Project_Image_(Spell) –  sebsmith Nov 19 '11 at 20:59
    
I thought so; but, my DM didn't think so. There is a rule giving a standard AC for Figments; but, for other kinds of illusions (such as Shadow, as with Project Image) it doesn't say. If you think that's what it is, put that as your answer, so others can vote and weigh in. =) –  RMorrisey Nov 19 '11 at 22:48
add comment

3 Answers

I would say it has the same AC as the caster.

  1. It's not a figment, so the figment AC rules don't apply. There is no general shadow AC rule - other specific spells have them, but that's not really relevant.

  2. It's a seventh fricking level spell. A seventh level spell to make an illusion of you - I'd give the PC a hell of a lot of leeway on it. Otherwise it seems like you could do the same thing with much lower level illusion spells.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Project image seems like a beefier version of shadow conjuration. Although mxyzplk brings up an excellent point about the level of the spell, if you don't think the projection should have the AC of the caster or can't find a more specific rule, you could use shadow conjuration's rules to stat up the projection:

A shadow creature has one-fifth the hit points of a normal creature of its kind (regardless of whether it's recognized as shadowy). It deals normal damage and has all normal abilities and weaknesses. Against a creature that recognizes it as a shadow creature, however, the shadow creature's damage is one-fifth (20%) normal, and all special abilities that do not deal lethal damage are only 20% likely to work. (Roll for each use and each affected character separately.) Furthermore, the shadow creature's AC bonuses are just one-fifth as large.

share|improve this answer
add comment

I think that I would argue that the AC is irrelevant. As with all illusions, the relevant point is whether or not the opponent recognizes it as an illusion or not, via their willpower saving throw. The rules on illusions state that when they interact with it "in some manner" they get to make the saving throw to disbelieve it. If they fail, the continue to believe it is real. It doesn't say that they have to hit it, only that they have to interact with it in some manner. I would rule that merely making the attempt to hit/attack affords the opponent that save, regardless of whether or not they might have overcome any particular AC with their attack. If they fail their save, then as a DM I would continue to act as if the foe believed in the illusion.

As a semi-related side note, the description also raises another interesting question. Since spells cast by the PC can originate from the shadow duplicate image, is a foe still affected by those spells that originate from the image?

share|improve this answer
    
Indeed, I agree with you. On the last point: the spell's text is quite explicit: "The spells affect other targets normally, despite originating from the projected image." –  Erik Burigo Nov 23 '11 at 14:52
    
Ah, I missed that part the first time. –  BBlake Nov 24 '11 at 2:23
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.