Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can I shift away from an enemy and then use a move action to get farther away from them without provoking an attack of opportunity?

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers

yes you can. You can use a move action to shift and trade your standard down for a move to take a full movement action.

share|improve this answer
    
Argh! 12 seconds! –  Brian Ballsun-Stanton Dec 13 '11 at 1:13
add comment

Yes

So long as you are not adjacent to an enemy nor within an enemy's threatening reach, you may move without penalty, even if that move is the result of converting a standard action into a move action.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Yes, if at the end of the shift you are not on a threatened square.

Shift is a move action that lets you move 1 square without provoking opportunity attacks. You can then convert your standard action to a move action in order to walk away your speed.

Note that some creatures may have a reach of 2 squares or more with their basic attacks. These creatures still threaten only adjacent squares unless they also have the Threatening Reach trait.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.