Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Is there anything that prevents a character from using the free resize-function of the Enchant Magic Item ritual to store an infinite amount of magic items in his backpack by making them exceptionally small?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 8 down vote accepted

As written, that only seems to work for magic armor (emphasis mine):

You can also use this ritual to resize magic armor

So while it could be abused, it's not as bad as it looks.

share|improve this answer
    
You're absolutely right, it's not as bad as I thought it was! In fact, it's actually a pretty neat idea! –  Ravn Dec 14 '11 at 14:03
    
Plus I'd rule that the armour must be appropriate to the size, so how many Tiny creatures wear Plate :-) –  SteveC Apr 13 '12 at 16:26

I doubt it for the following reason.

Bags of holding and handy haversacks are incredibly common in the D&D 4e world. They allow you to hold a very large amount of items and it only weigh a pound.

If you can abstract something one way why not abstract it another way.

Both of these methods are to prevent unnecessary book keeping.

However, I have a feeling that the method suggested in this question could be an interesting opportunity for the DM.

Player: "I'd like to resize my miniscule full blade"

DM: "Roll to see if you can find it"

Player: "Uh Oh. I rolled a 1"

DM: "You've managed to lose every single item in your backpack that was sized below tiny"

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.