Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I tried finding this in the books, but I couldn't figure anything out. If you have an undead character, what happens when their physical stress track is filled and they don't take a consequence? Are they taken out like other characters?

I know that undead characters don't heal like normal characters.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 10 down vote accepted

The concept of being "taken out" in any FATE game is not a strict matter of life-death or victory-defeat. It means one specific thing:

The player loses control of the character. The character's fate is in the hands of the opponent. The opponent is expected to narrate how the character meets his demise, in a manner that makes sense according to what brought him down. The opponent must also declare how and if the taken-out character can recover.

So in your case, whoever took out that undead thing decides what happens to it.

YS 203 says:

Getting Taken Out

If the damage exceeds the character’s stress track, or occupied boxes “push” the stress off the right side of the stress track, the character is taken out, meaning the character has decisively lost the conflict. His fate is in the hands of the opponent, who may decide how the character loses. The outcome must remain within the realm of reason — very few people truly die from shame, so having someone die as a result of a duel of wits is unlikely, but having him embarrass himself and flee in disgrace is not unreasonable.

share|improve this answer
First, characters (or things) that are "taken out" lose their ability to continue the current conflict. - not strictly true. They lose their ability to dictate their actions in the current conflict, this is especially true when dealing with the hunger or social stress track. Getting taken out can mean that your character flies into a blind rage, etc, so the conflict would continue, but out of the character's control. Also see YS203; Generally speaking, getting taken out applies only to the venue of the attack in question., i.e. you can continue under cases in other realms. –  wraith808 Dec 15 '11 at 21:35
Good point. Fixing now. –  edgerunner Dec 15 '11 at 21:37

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.