Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I remember one of the few times I played 4E D&D, I was a Con'lock specialising in pushing, and a few other character also had a lot of ranged push abilities. We ended up pushing the big bad so far away (14+ squares) it couldn't attack, then the avenger managed to convert the pushed squares into damage (I forget the power/item/thing used).

Is there a maximum range allowed on push per turn? Should there be? What we did seems excessive.

share|improve this question
The only limit I know of is the "map". I know some DMs would not allow you to push mobs off "the map" and they just hang at the last square. But I doubt that is an official rule. – GMNoob Dec 17 '11 at 16:42
up vote 6 down vote accepted

There's no overall limit on how far you can push someone.

Bear in mind that you could have used other powers dealing more damage or imposing status effects instead, and your attack powers aren't guaranteed to hit, so it's fair what you did.

Find out what your avenger used, and check that it works on forced movement, and on forced movement imposed by his allies. Some powers only damage an enemy when he moves willingly.

share|improve this answer
Looking round, I think it's the thunderwave staff, and it was an invoker, not avenger. – Pureferret Dec 17 '11 at 18:55
@Pureferret The Thunderwave staff isn't so powerful. It's a Daily power and it only changes one of the user's own push into d6s of damage, instead of the push. – Joe Dovahkiin Dec 17 '11 at 19:31

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.