Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Sorcerous Blade Channeling feat says:

When you use any ranged sorcerer attack power through a dagger, you can use the power as a melee attack. If you do so, the power’s range equals your melee reach.

Does the player get the dagger's +3 proficiency bonus? Would prefer an official reference if possible.

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 4 down vote accepted

You apply the weapon proficiency bonus only if the Sorcerer attack power has the "weapon" keyword.

From the Bonus definition on DDI:

Proficiency Bonus: Gained from proficiency with a weapon, this bonus applies to attack rolls with that weapon. An adventurer gains the proficiency bonus only when wielding the weapon and using powers that have the weapon keyword.

Looks like there are currently 8 Sorcerer powers that have the weapon keyword, all in Dragon 379 and 390. Most are already Melee weapon attacks so they would not benefit overmuch from the Sorcerous Blade Channeling feat.

share|improve this answer
add comment

The best response I can find is this, snipped form the WotC boards, quoting the PH faq:

Not unless the power has "weapon" as a keyword, which none of them do to date. Doesn't matter whether an attack is ranged, melee, close or whatever, if it doesn't say "weapon" in the keywords, the WP isn't added.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.