Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If a character with the Arcane Background (Weird Science) edge takes a new Power, say Bolt, do they need to roll a skill check to create their Ray Gun?

share|improve this question
Remember, bolt requires shooting to use the gun, NOT the weird science skill! – Ryre Jun 6 '12 at 21:06
Thanks but knew that, the question was about making not using one. – David Allan Finch Jun 7 '12 at 8:52
up vote 6 down vote accepted

No. The time spent on the level-up shows devotion and perfection to the new device. There is no room for error.

From Explorer Edition page 84:

New Powers: Each time a Weird Scientist takes the New Power Edge, he has invented a new gadget. He simply chooses a power and decides what kind of gizmo it’s contained in as usual. He can also repeat a power he’s already taken. A mad scientist might want to create two ray-guns, for example, so that he can use one and give one to a companion.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.