Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I had the following situation last night. A creature attacked with a Fire and Poison attack. My character has resist 5 Poison. does the resistance apply or do I need to resist 5 fire as well?

share|improve this question
add comment

3 Answers 3

You need resistance to both keywords to properly resist the attack.

From DDI:

Against Combined Damage Types: Your resistance is ineffective against combined damage types unless you have resistance to each of the damage types, and then only the weakest of the resistances applies. For example, if you have resist 10 lightning and resist 5 thunder and an attack deals 15 lightning and thunder damage to you, you take 10 damage, because the resistance to the combined damage types is limited by the lesser of the two resistances.

share|improve this answer
    
Yep, so in your case you would take the full damage unless you also had resistance to fire. –  Jason White Jan 10 '12 at 3:07
    
is this different from 3.5? I seem to recall there being a spell (divine i think) that dealt holy and fire, but resisting the fire only reduced the spell's damage by 50%. –  acolyte Jul 10 '13 at 20:16
1  
@acolyte aside form the general framework of classes, magic items, d20 rolls, and modifier math you should treat 4e as wholly separate from 3.5 from a rules mechanics perspective. Source material its a direct reinterpretation/sequel, but the mechanics and more importantly the game development philosophy that went into them are extremely different from 3.5. –  Joshua Aslan Smith Jul 11 '13 at 18:30
    
@JoshuaAslanSmith I know that much, i was just surprised that the rules for dual-damage were so different from what I (thought) i remembered. unless i'm thinking of a specific spell and not the general rule. –  acolyte Jul 11 '13 at 18:40
add comment

The attack is Fire and Poison, as such it isn't resisted unless all the keywords are resisted.

From the latest PhB errata:

Resistance or immunity to one keyword of a power does not protect a target from the power’s other effects. Also, resistance doesn’t reduce damage unless the target has resistance to each type of damage from the attack, and then only the weakest of the resistances applies. For example, a character who has resist 10 lightning and resist 5 thunder who takes 15 lightning and thunder damage takes 10 damage because the resistance value to the combined damage types is limited by the lesser of the two resistances.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Yet, if you have Resist Fire 10 and Resist Poison 5, you will reduce only 5 damage from this attack, not 10, the lowest resistance between both applies.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.