Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

A druid which is wild-shaped (elemental body) into an earth elemental has the ability "earth glide". I have a couple of questions regarding this:

  • If he's inside of a wall, can he see/hear what's happening in an adjacent room?
  • Can he cast (while he's inside of the wall) into an adjacent room?
share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 10 down vote accepted

I don't think there are rules explicitly for this, but I have a suggestion.

Compare Earth Glide (Ex) to Incorporeal (Ex) and borrow some of the "pass through solid objects" restrictions.

  • Don't need to remain adjacent to the object's exterior — Earth Glide is clear on this point.
  • Can sense creatures directly adjacent.
  • In order to see beyond the object it is in and attack normally, the creature must emerge.

Unless the druid has other senses, Earth Glide doesn't let him sense any more than he normally would and being embedded in a wall is somewhat limiting. Likewise, he doesn't have any line of effect to anything (other than the wall or himself) while in the wall.

share|improve this answer
    
Agreed. I'd let the druid sense anyone touching the wall or very close, and let them maybe hear noises/speech with a slight Perception penalty, but not see things or cast (even blindly). –  mxyzplk Jan 17 '12 at 16:37
    
What does exactly mean "... the creature must emerge."? Can he emerge, cast a spell and then go back inside the wall? –  Francesco Jan 18 '12 at 7:51
    
Yes, exactly that. –  okeefe Jan 19 '12 at 13:34

I'd use the rules from Meld Into Stone. You can't see, but you can hear (sound travels through solids). You can cast spells, but only on yourself. It's a nice way to get a break, heal yourself, charge up poison or rusting grasp, and so forth.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.