Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If a Changeling becomes a Succubus, can she fly?

More broadly, does a Changeling gain the racial abilities of any race he or she is mimicking?

share|improve this question
2  
Welcome to the site! I think this question changes depending on which version of D&D you're talking about. By the sounds of it it's 4E, so it might help if you tag it as such. –  Pureferret Jan 24 '12 at 19:13
    
I'm okay with answers from other editions of D&D (which is how my office workers approached the question), home brewed rules, or even other rpg systems. Thanks for the tip, though. –  Rat Rock Joe Jan 24 '12 at 19:38
    
Well, as far as I know there will be a different answers for different editions, do you want a summary of all of them? –  Pureferret Jan 24 '12 at 19:54
3  
@RatRockJoe I'd pick an edition and stick with it for this question. Questions on SE sites work best when focused. Changelings (as such) only really exist in 3rd and 4th editions (previous editions used Doppelgangers). However the mechanics are different for the two different editions. –  wax eagle Jan 24 '12 at 20:05
    
Well, unless my memory has deserted me, changelings were introduced in 3.5 as being the decendants of humans and dopplegangers, so concievably this question should be treated as if it was "If a changeling or doppleganger becomes a succubus, can she fly?" But that judgement call should probably be in the hands of the original poster. –  GMJoe Jan 25 '12 at 6:18
add comment

1 Answer

I'm afraid not. As detailed on page 13 of the Eberron Campaign Setting for 3.5e D&D, the changeling's Minor Change Shape grants them

the supernatural ability to alter their appearance as though using a disguise self spell that affects their bodies but not their possessions.

As disguise self does not grant racial abilities, neither does the changeling racial trait.

share|improve this answer
6  
No, but she is much hotter. –  mxyzplk Jan 25 '12 at 3:56
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.