Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

When a combination of powers/feats each allow a push or slide of 1 square, can they be combined into a single forced move of 2

Specifically ...

Artificer Power (1): Thundering Armor - "Hit: 1d8+3 thunder damage and you push the secondary target 1 square away from the primary target.

combined with...

Dragonmark Feat: Mark of Storm - "Whenever you hit an enemy with a thunder or lightning power, you can slide that enemy 1 square.

Ok, in this case I'm thinking it'd be a push 1 from the attack, followed by a slide 1 from the feat

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

The exact same (in fact more detailed) question came up on the WotC boards. Here is the answer to your question:

Hitting with Thundering Armor while having the Feat Mark of Storm result in a Push 1 and a Slide 1 because Mark of Storm doesn't increase any Forced Movement, it produces one on its own.

Where someone else explains how this sort of rule is adjudicated in D&D 4E:

There isn't a rule which states you can't have more then one forced movement type. So the specific rule present in MoS that you get a slide has nothing to contradict it. 4e is Specific vs General, but it is also Rules Text vs Nothing At All.

So yes, they 'stack'.


Interestingly the OP on the WotC post also adds in the use of the Quickbeam Staff:

Increases forced movement by 1.

This is a property of the Forceful enchantment.

Forceful: Whenever you pull, push, or slide a target with an attack power using a forceful implement, the distance of the forced movement increases by 1 square.

Wondering if it applies to each...

The answer is quite niggly, in that it relies on the emphasized text in the quote above, namely:

Mark of Storm's Slide isn't increased by the Forceful Property because you are not Pushing with an Attack Power, but with a Feat after you Hit wth an Attack Power.

This results in a (1+1)+1=3 forced movement.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.