Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

My Warden just acquired the level 2 Utility Daily: Nature's Abundance which creates a Zone which provides Cover in a Burst 3 for me and my allies (AWESOME!). To make sure that I fully understand the mechanics of this skill, I need to know if this skill will provide my allies and me cover from adjacent melee attacks.

Does a Zone providing Cover derived from a power provide cover from adjacent melee attacks? The power states:

You and your allies have cover while within the Zone.

share|improve this question
yes, cover for allies in burst 3 is awesome :) – Pat Ludwig Feb 24 '12 at 21:15
Does it count as Partial Cover or Total Cover? – user6168 Jan 7 '13 at 0:49
@Scott Your question inspired me to make this post: – BESW Jan 7 '13 at 1:50
up vote 11 down vote accepted

If that's how it's written and there's no errata on it right now, that's how it should work. Cover is cover is cover, no matter if it's ranged or melee.

share|improve this answer
Just to provide an additional little bit of feedback, I think any sort of concealment/cover in D&D has always worked in hand-to-hand or ranged combat, even if a foe is within the area of effect (excepting, of course, mundane visible cover) – Kyle Willey Feb 24 '12 at 21:31

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.