Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The oh so delicious Control Flame manipulates "non-living fire ... that is not controlled by a creature."

Do zones, non-sustained zones, environmental effects, and/or torches count?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

I'd treat the "controlled by a creature" part as any instance of a flame that is either:

  • part of the equipment of a creature (including magical and non-magical torches);
  • part of a Zone, Aura or Conjuration power or trait a creature activated (e.g.: a Flaming SphereDDI);
  • part of a power's sustainable effect or attack originated from a creature (e.g.: the Control FlameDDI itself).

I'd exclude flames that:

  • have been created by any instantaneous, non-sustainable power or effect, even if it deals ongoing fire damage.

E.g.: one of the Kobold SlingerDDI's special ammunition sets the target on fire. Even if the target's equipment could be enveloped in flame, I don't think we could consider it as "part of the equipment". Also, the slinger has no more control on the flame (the kobold cannot sustain it).

share|improve this answer

The way I would read this: Any fire is a viable target, as long as its manipulation would not conflict with the intent of the caster of the source of the fire.

If the torch is a normal torch, then fine. If the torch is a magical torch, you can't control it. Same with a Zone, or non-sustained zones. You can't use this power to negate the zone.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.