Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The Novice Power feat reads

You can swap one encounter attack power you know for one encounter attack power of the same level or lower from the class you multiclassed into.

Note: If you have no encounter attack powers, this feat grants no benefit to you.

I have a Slayer multiclassed into Barbarian with the Draeven Marauder paragon path. As a Slayer the only encounter powers he has is multiple uses of Power Strike, but power strike has no level, and so cannot be swapped out with Novice Power.

Draeven Marauder however provides a level 11 encounter attack power, and presumably should be swappable but the character builder does not let me.

What is correct here?

share|improve this question
1  
What level are you? –  GMNoob Feb 28 '12 at 6:14
    
What level? 14th. –  Simon Withers Feb 29 '12 at 1:15
    
Looks like what I am attempting here is a 2-feat trick: Reserve Maneuver will teach me an encounter attack power, and as long as the level is right, I can choose the RM power in place of the PP power. And the character builder (as well as the "Swapping Powers" RC text on p90, though not the "Power-Swap Feats" PH p209 text) allows the RM power to be swapped out for a power from my multiclass, by using the Novice Power feat. Is it worth it? Dunno.... –  Simon Withers Feb 29 '12 at 2:27

1 Answer 1

up vote 3 down vote accepted

No

Rules Compendium, page 90:

Swapping Powers
Some game features, particularily feats, give you the option of swapping one of your adventurer's powers for a different power. This option provides a way to customize your adventurer and to experiment with different abilities.
[...] Unless instructed otherwise, you cannot replace powers that your character gained from a paragon path or an epic destiny.

Also, Player's Handbook, page 209

Power-Swap Feats
The Novice Power, Acolyte Power, and Adept Power feats give you access to a power from the class for which you took a class-specific multiclass feat. That power replaces a power you would normally have from your primary class. When you take one of these power-swap feats, you give up a power of your choice from your primary class and replace it with a power of the same level or lower from the class you have multiclassed in.

share|improve this answer
    
AH, hard rulings. It didn't seem to make sense before, but now that I know there's a rule for it specifically... –  CrystalBlue Feb 29 '12 at 12:32
    
@CrystalBlue: It may seem restrictive at first, but one should remember that paragon paths and epic destinies are defined by their abilities and powers. Imagine e.g. a War Wizard of Cormyr that is unable to create the signature attack Lightning Ripple. –  arotter Feb 29 '12 at 16:25
    
Well, I agree with you. That's why it didn't make sense when I saw that and thought 'Wait...I guess you could, by the rules, swap it out'. I was actually looking for that ruling but didn't run across it. –  CrystalBlue Feb 29 '12 at 19:01
    
@SimonWithers Uh! I always forgot that on SE it's not impolite to edit other people's answers. :) Also, arotter's reference to RC already encompassed the PHB case (that's the reason I deleted my answer). Anyway, you did well in adding as many references as possible to strengthen the concept. –  Erik Burigo Mar 2 '12 at 8:30

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.