Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The first question is self-explanatory, and if the answer is yes, is Mountain Hammer and it's upgrades usable on such items without counting as sunder attempts? If not, can they be used instead of an attack in a sunder attampt?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Not every attack you make against a weapon/shield is a sunder attempt, for the same reason that not every attack you make after moving 10' or more in a straight line is a charge. A sunder attempt has a lot of rules (attack of opportunity, opposed rolls, etc) that a normal attack doesn't.

In fact, many attacks that don't pass AC are actually striking a shield/armor, and they won't have a chance to sunder them. It's an abstraction thing.

Now, the answer for "can I do a special attack as a sunder attempt" is more open to debate, and will almost always have to be at the DM's discretion.

As for Mountain Hammer in particular, it says "Target: One creature or unattended object", which would show that they specifically singled out "attended object" of the maneuver scope, so it seems RAI is "No, you cant", but again, DM's call.

share|improve this answer
Thanks for the second part about the Mountain hammer. About the first question though, probably due to my bad wording, you got it wrong. I am asking if you can target and attack a weapon or shield without it being a sunder attempt. It is a rather retarded question, but many hours of wakefulness do that to me. – Khaal Mar 4 '12 at 2:37
@Khaal d&d 3.X usually discourages "aiming" your attacks (no called shots, for example) so targeting their weapon or shield would be just as discouraged. Even without that, unless you want to hit the weapon without causing it damage (dunno why you'd want that, except maybe dramatic effect) it HAS to be a sunder; otherwise making a sunder attack wouldn't make any sense, since it's just like an attack but worse (you have to take an AoO or waste a feat, you have to win an opposed roll, etc). – Yandros Mar 4 '12 at 2:44
Yes, i saw your point after reading your answer or posting the question, my bad. – Khaal Mar 4 '12 at 2:57

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.