Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Does precision damage effect incorporeal creatures? If so does it effect them fully, or based on how the effect would attack them (50% for magic weapons, and 100% for Ghost Touch weapons)?

For example:

A rogue flanks a ghost with a fighter. He's using a +1 dagger, and deals +2d6 sneak attack. He hits. Which of the following occurs (or some other result)?

  • (1d4+1)/2
  • (1d4+1 + 2d6) /2
  • (1d4+1)/2 + 2d6
share|improve this question
up vote 6 down vote accepted

The rules for the Incorporeal subtype mention precision damage specifically:

An incorporeal creature is immune to critical hits and precision-based damage (such as sneak attack damage) unless the attacks are made using a weapon with the ghost touch special weapon quality.

Taken from here. If you don't have a Ghost Touch weapon, then the damage the ghost would take would be (1d4+1)/2. If you do, it would be the full 1d4+1 + 2d6.

share|improve this answer

A creature with the incorporeal subtype is immune to precision damage, except from ghost touch weapons.

However, it's possible to be incorporeal without gaining the incorporeal subtype, such as by the spell dust form. In that case, an creature attacked without a ghost touch weapon would be vulnerable to precision damage, but the total damage dealt by the attack would still be halved as normal.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.