Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I know if my first action of a turn is Charge, then Daze will not stop the charge.

What happens if Daze is the second action of the turn? Can Daze stop the Charge then ?

Sequence of events:

  1. I do a move action
  2. I declare Charge and do the move portion of the charge
  3. I trigger an opportunity attack and get hit and become dazed

Can I now do the attack from the Charge, or is it lost?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

Opportunity attacks interrupt the current action (meaning they happen as soon as they are triggered either before an attack or before leaving the adjacent square).

One of the properties of interrupts is that actions that are no longer valid are lost.

If an interrupt invalidates a triggering action, that action is lost. (DDI)

Thus the movement would be stopped on the daze (as you lack the standard action the charge you are in the midst of requires... similar to Does an opportunity attack that stuns prevent the movement?) and the attack would not happen as it would be the completion of the charge action.

If you are still in a valid position to charge, an action point may be spent to charge, but I do not think that an action point could be spent to resume the charge rather than start a new one.

share|improve this answer
    
Note, that they are free actions that interrupt other actions but that they are not, formally, "immediate interrupts" in so far as the rules provide 1 per turn, rather than 1 per round. –  Brian Ballsun-Stanton Mar 23 '12 at 3:21
    
@BrianBallsun-Stanton I've tried to clarify the language here. –  wax eagle Mar 23 '12 at 11:50
    
If you had an action point to spend, you wouldn't be able to charge the guy you just tried to charge (and are adjacent to) correct? –  Pat Ludwig Mar 24 '12 at 3:58
    
yeah I don't think the action point can be spent to resume the charge. It has to be spent to gain a completely new action which would have to then be a valid charge. –  wax eagle Mar 24 '12 at 4:20
2  
@EugeneKatz my question about OA and stunned references dazed in exactly the same way that this question does - in the middle of an action the right to take that action is removed... does the action continue? In both that question and this answer, the suggestion is "No, the action does not continue." –  Simon Withers Mar 26 '12 at 21:19
show 10 more comments

Because you've already spent the action to initiate the charge, getting dazed in the middle of it should not invalidate your action. Dazed condition would prevent you from taking additional non-free actions (and technically that's the case at the end of a charge anyway), but since you've already cashed in your standard action to initiate the charge, you should be able to finish it.

Unlike examples where an interrupt invalidates the action which triggered it, there is nothing about being dazed that would make completing the charge (action you've already started) illegal. And you clearly must have started the charge action, even if you have not started the movement portion of it yet, because that is what the opportunity attack is triggered by.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.