Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

We know penalties from zones do not stack, but the rules appear to be silent about overlapping damaging effects.

If I'm in two zones that each do 15 fire damage, how much damage do I take?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

Yes. Damage stacks. This has been clarified for overlapping auras and I don't see why it would not also apply for area effects.

In the case above you take 30 fire damage.

share|improve this answer
Can you cite the aura ruling? Is it Rules Compendium or WotC customer service? That's the inverse of ongoing damage, and so seems odd. – Simon Withers Mar 23 '12 at 1:40
@SimonWithers the aura was a errata as of May 2010.… has the relevant quote. – wax eagle Mar 23 '12 at 11:45
@SimonWithers the aura question was also answered by Pat here – wax eagle Mar 23 '12 at 11:51

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.