Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We know penalties from zones do not stack, but the rules appear to be silent about overlapping damaging effects.

If I'm in two zones that each do 15 fire damage, how much damage do I take?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 7 down vote accepted

Yes. Damage stacks. This has been clarified for overlapping auras and I don't see why it would not also apply for area effects.

In the case above you take 30 fire damage.

share|improve this answer
    
Can you cite the aura ruling? Is it Rules Compendium or WotC customer service? That's the inverse of ongoing damage, and so seems odd. –  Simon Withers Mar 23 '12 at 1:40
2  
@SimonWithers the aura was a errata as of May 2010. enworld.org/forum/d-d-4th-edition-discussion/… has the relevant quote. –  wax eagle Mar 23 '12 at 11:45
2  
@SimonWithers the aura question was also answered by Pat here –  wax eagle Mar 23 '12 at 11:51
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.