Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can a character take an Edge with an Advance that uses an Edge they got from a Magic Item as a pre requisite. For Example say I had a "Gum Shield of Frenzy" could I get Improved Frenzy.

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

I see a few options here. I'm a generous and fun-loving GM so I've sorted them in my preference.

Yes, but only when using the item. Let the character take Improved Frenzy, but they must maintain the prerequisites to use Improved Frenzy. If they stop using the shield, they lose all benefits of Improved Frenzy until they regain Frenzy (by any means.)

No, but make the edges cumulative. Let the character learn the Frenzy edge. The shield provides the benefit of Frenzy or Improved Frenzy depending on who wields it.

No, suck it up. It's a tough world. Just because you have a crutch that lets you walk doesn't mean you can use it to run.

share|improve this answer
Of the options above, I would probably go for 2, Make the edges cumulative. – altazu Mar 30 '12 at 6:20
I like 1 & 3. I think it probably depends on the background feel of the Campaign. – David Allan Finch Mar 30 '12 at 7:23
I think 2 is the simplest option besides "suck it up". I would personally roll with that. – C. Ross Mar 30 '12 at 18:34

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.