Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Is teleporting a creature considered to be forced movement of said creature?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 19 down vote accepted

No. From the compendium:

Forced Movement

Movement that a creature is compelled to do, specifically a pull, a push, or a slide. A creature can be moved in other ways, such as through teleportation, but only pulls, pushes, and slides are technically forced movement.

share|improve this answer
    
Thanks for the reference ... a player is interested in a power that adds damage on forced movement and teleport –  SteveC Apr 12 '12 at 12:12
add comment

It's not forced movement, but per the Player's Handbook errata, trying to teleport creatures into dangerous terrain or to a spot where they will fall gives them an immediate saving throw to avoid the teleport.

Teleportation

Page 286: Replace the text for the Destination entry and the Immobilized entry. This change addresses what happens when a creature is forced to teleport, and it clarifies that the Immobilized entry includes restrained as well.

Destination: Your destination must be a space you can occupy without squeezing. If arriving in the destination space would cause the target to fall or if that space is hindering terrain, the target can make a saving throw. On a save, the teleportation is negated.

share|improve this answer
    
I agree it's not directly answering the question, however I added it since, in my experience, whenever someone is asking about forced movement and teleport it's because they want to teleport an enemy somewhere it doesn't want to be. –  Core Dec 9 '12 at 12:22
    
It is useful information, just that most of the answer is tangential. Oh well. I've proposed an edit that includes a reference to the errata you're thinking of, and the relevant text itself. –  Jonathan Hobbs Dec 10 '12 at 2:24
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.