Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Is teleporting a creature considered to be forced movement of said creature? I have a player interested in a power that adds damage on forced movement and teleport.

share|improve this question
Damage and teleportation related: Forced movement into danger: is there a saving throw? – Zachiel Apr 20 '14 at 13:09
up vote 22 down vote accepted

No. From the compendium:

Forced Movement

Movement that a creature is compelled to do, specifically a pull, a push, or a slide. A creature can be moved in other ways, such as through teleportation, but only pulls, pushes, and slides are technically forced movement.

share|improve this answer

It's not forced movement, but per the Player's Handbook errata, trying to teleport creatures into dangerous terrain or to a spot where they will fall gives them an immediate saving throw to avoid the teleport.


Page 286: Replace the text for the Destination entry and the Immobilized entry. This change addresses what happens when a creature is forced to teleport, and it clarifies that the Immobilized entry includes restrained as well.

Destination: Your destination must be a space you can occupy without squeezing. If arriving in the destination space would cause the target to fall or if that space is hindering terrain, the target can make a saving throw. On a save, the teleportation is negated.

share|improve this answer
A comment on the question with a link to this could have been enough. – Zachiel Apr 20 '14 at 13:08

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.