Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The feat Practiced Spellcaster (Complete Arcane) has a prerequisite of four skill ranks in Spellcraft.

Can I take this feat on the first level if I use my skill points to get Spellcraft to four ranks? Is there an answer from an official source?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted


The d20 SRD has this to say about feat prerequisites:

Some feats have prerequisites. Your character must have the indicated ability score, class feature, feat, skill, base attack bonus, or other quality designated in order to select or use that feat. A character can gain a feat at the same level at which he or she gains the prerequisite.

It's perfectly okay to use your first-level skill points to qualify you for this feat.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.