Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I have a rogue who fires a ranged weapon as a sneak attack, then passes his stealth-20 check to snipe, can he then make a second ranged sneak attack on the next round? If so (or if not), what is the justification? I haven't been able to find anything that makes this point clear, but the two opinions I have found seem to be 1) Yes, because the rogue is still hidden and 2) No, because the enemy is no longer surprised.

share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted

Sadly, the RAW answer is no. You can snipe and remain hidden, but your next attack is not a sneak attack because "stealthed" isn't a condition that makes a target flat-footed or denies it its Dex bonus to AC. Similarly, if you simply stay hidden until the battle is raging and try to shoot someone, it's not RAW a sneak attack. (It's not because it doesn't say it is, the rules are clear in omission.)

Of course this tends to defy reason, so I let people get in sneak attacks in other situations, as "it's the first round of a combat" is not a real in-game-world thing.

The devs understand the stealth rules are a big hot mess; in fact they posted some playtest new stealth rules on in an attempt to come up with something less wonky.

share|improve this answer
Thanks! I read the article you linked, which stated that they were going to make a rule change based on playtesting sometime in October, but wasn't able to find any follow-up. Do you know whether any official changes were made? – danben Apr 17 '12 at 19:06
They haven't had a follow-up since round two of the playtest, so nothing yet. Though my group has been playing with the Stealth PTR2 (PlayTest Round 2) rules without an issue. – Mad Brew Apr 17 '12 at 20:06
The article says that if you are hidden your target is denied dex to AC And sneak attack says that if the target is denied dex you can sneak attack him – Arcantos Apr 17 '12 at 23:46
Yes, the article, but that article is a proposed change to RAW. RAW, it doesn't say stealth deprives Dex to AC like invisibility does. Though I play it that way because RAW's for feebs. – mxyzplk Apr 18 '12 at 2:34

Sniping on SRD Action: Usually none. Normally, you make a Stealth check as part of movement, so it doesn't take a separate action. However, using Stealth immediately after a ranged attack (see Sniping, above) is a move action.

Since you spend a move action on the stealth check (and presumably a standard on the attack itself) you cannot full attack. so one attack per round

Edit: In following rounds, assuming the enemy is still hasn't spotted you you can still land sneak attacks since the opponent can't see you, works like invisibility or similar situations

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.