Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Do you have to have a Holy Symbol in one of your hands to use it ... (a) in your attacks, (b) to gain advantage of any special effects ?

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted


A character does not need to hold a Holy Symbol in his or her hands to benefit from it in any way.

From the Rules Compendium pg274

Unlike other implements, a holy symbol can be used whether it is worn or held. If a creature wears or holds more than one holy symbol, none of these symbols function until only one remains (this rule is usually relevant only to magic holy symbols).

share|improve this answer
does the compendium say whether the holy symbol must be visibly displayed when worn, or can it be worn under clothing/armor? – SteveED Apr 18 '12 at 0:54
@SteveED - nothing directly on point no. I don't think there is any obvious benefit one way or the other. – Pat Ludwig Apr 18 '12 at 2:28
@SteveED that's really a question for your DM and not a rulebook. – DreadGazebo Apr 18 '12 at 19:57
@DreadGazebo - actually I always thought the cleric had to forcefully display the holy symbol in one of his hands to gain it's benefits, so I'm glad this question came up. – SteveED Apr 19 '12 at 2:51

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.