Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The target for Cleave [ddi] says "One creature", but the effect states that another enemy adjacent to you that isn't the target takes damage.

Does this mean I can use Cleave even if there aren't two creatures near me?

share|improve this question
8  
How would that differ from a basic melee attack, then? –  Jadasc Apr 19 '12 at 19:06
3  
There are a number of feats that make this quite quite useful. Deft Hurler off the top of my head. –  Brian Ballsun-Stanton Apr 19 '12 at 22:09

1 Answer 1

up vote 14 down vote accepted

Yes

You can, but with no valid secondary target, the extra damage would be wasted.

share|improve this answer
2  
Agreed. Likely he is aiming to use one of the secondary effects. I know my fighter will always use Cleave due to the bonus he gets from Longhand Student –  Xphile Apr 20 '12 at 0:49

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.