Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can a Cleric (or other character with the Channel Energy class feature) Channel Energy while grappled?

I read through the entry, and I did not see anything similar to a spell's concentration check, only the note that the character had to be able to use their Holy Symbol. Does this prevent Channel Energy while grappled?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 12 down vote accepted

Channeling energy is a supernatural ability, which means it cannot be disrupted by enemies, and it has one physical requirement:

A cleric must be able to present her holy symbol to use this ability.

Then checking the grappling section of the CRB:

Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn’t require two hands to perform ..

So as long as the cleric in question isn't using a cinder block or similar for her holy symbol, and assuming she doesn't keep the symbol at the bottom of her backpack, she should be fine to channel while grappled. (Not at all true for the pinned condition, however.)

share|improve this answer
    
Could a cleric conceivably have their holy symbol attached to their breastplate, for example, so that they can "present" it even while pinned? –  dlras2 Apr 21 '12 at 2:51
4  
Given that the pinned text states both that you "cannot move" and only allows mental and verbal "actions", I think it'd be a stretch to allow someone to "present" something in such a condition, as presentation usually implies physical behavior (one can imagine the cleric in your example thrusting his chest out or something - counting it as being presented simply by virtue of being visible at all times seems to miss the spirit of the rule). Having said that, I don't know of anything in RAW that makes it explicit either way. –  ladenedge Apr 21 '12 at 3:45
2  
As a GM I certainly wouldn't allow it while pinned, but Black Tentacles can't pin at any rate, which was the situation in my game last week. –  C. Ross Apr 21 '12 at 12:58
    
Yeah, if you're hogtied on the floor you're not really going to be able to present something on your breastplate. Unless you're real lucky and spend an action point or harrow point or whatever if your campaign supports it! But I agree, grappled yes, pinned no. –  mxyzplk Apr 21 '12 at 20:43
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.