Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Let's say a wild card foe gets shaken (either through damage or other means). Per the rules, if she gets "shaken again" through successful damage, she gets a wound instead (and remains shaken).

What if a PC successfully hits her and beats her toughness with a raise (instead of simply beating it)? Does the foe get one wound or two wounds (one for being shaken again and the other for the raise)?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 17 down vote accepted

The process for determining whether a target hit for damage is shaken and/or wounded can be summed up as follows:

If the target is not Shaken

  • A success on the damage roll = Shaken
  • 1 Raise = 1 Wound and Shaken
  • 2 Raises = 2 Wounds and Shaken
  • 3 Raises = 3 Wounds and Shaken
  • And so on...

If the target is Shaken

  • Success = 1 Wound and remains Shaken
  • Raise = 1 Wound and remains Shaken
  • 2 Raises = 2 Wounds and remains Shaken
  • 3 Raises = 3 Wounds and remains Shaken
  • And so on...

The important part (and where a lot of players get it wrong) is how a success and the first raise affect a target that is already shaken. The reason for the game being designed like this has been explained as 'because it makes it easier for a Shaken Wildcard to be wounded but not seriously wounded'.

See here for an official take on this subject, which gets asked A LOT on the official forums.

EDIT: An additional post with a more detailed breakdown can be found here.

share|improve this answer
1  
Yep. The important passage in Explorer's Edition is on p. 75, bottom of the left column: "If a [Wild Card] is already Shaken, he suffers a wound as usual, but this isn’t cumulative. Wild Cards only suffer one wound per raise whether they are Shaken or not." (emphasis mine) –  SevenSidedDie Apr 30 '12 at 4:04

The way I simplify it is that you count the success and each raise as a wound. If the target is not shaken, the first wound causes the target to be shaken instead. Also, I make the shaking flavoursome, such as "you panic as your sleeve catches fire."

So in your case, you roll a raise: two wounds. If the target is already shaken, they receive two wounds. If the target is not shaken, they become shaken and take one wound.

Note that it's possible to roll multiple raises on a damage roll, resulting in several simultaneous wounds.

share|improve this answer
1  
I thought that too, but it seemed a little harsh. Is it in the the rules? –  Yianes the Sneak Apr 27 '12 at 3:18
3  
-1 I'm sorry but if I understand what you are saying, this is NOT correct. A Shaken target you hit with a raise on the damage roll only takes 1 wound and remains shaken - see my answer below. –  Phil Apr 27 '12 at 8:33
    
@Phil, thanks, that's interesting! I might start playing like that. –  Hand-E-Food May 8 '12 at 0:50

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.