Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The description of the magic circle ritual includes the following text:

An affected creature whose level is lower than your Arcana check result minus 10 cannot pass through the circle, affect creatures through the circle’s boundary, or affect the boundary in any way. Other creatures of an affected origin take force damage equal to your Arcana check result when passing through the boundary, but doing so breaks the circle.

What is the difference between An affected creature and Other creatures of an affected origin in this description? Can creatures of a given origin pass through the circle or not?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 8 down vote accepted

In both cases it refers to the affected creature: a creature that matches the origin you choose (aberrant, elemental, fey, immortal, natural, shadow, or all) when performing the ritual.

An affected creature whose:

  • level is lower than your Arcana check result minus 10:

    cannot pass through or affect the circle

  • level is equal or higher than your Arcana check result minus 10

    can pass the circle, but takes force damage equal to your Arcana check and breaks the circle as a result

A non-affected creature would be that whose origin does not match the one you specified. The magic circle would not affect them regardless of their level.

share|improve this answer
    
Why "Arcana check result minus 10" ? –  GodEater Apr 30 '12 at 7:51
    
A d20 roll minus 10 averages around 0. Adding your Arcana skill to this causes the affected level to match closely with your Arcana skill. –  Robert Kleinsasser Apr 30 '12 at 13:00

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.