Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Researched and valid magus maneuver:

  • Cast Touch Spell -> 5 foot step -> Spellstrike with no concentration check

Is this valid:

  • Cast Touch Spell -> Move action -> Spellstrike with no concentration check?

And is there any way I can use a 5 foot step or a move action to avoid casting defensively with a spell combat/spellstrike combo? Merci!

share|improve this question

Yes, cast then move then spellstrike is legal, just like a normal wizard casting a touch spell, moving, and then using a free action to deliver it is legal. In fact, this exact scenario is addressed in the FAQ/Errata sidebar on the Magus page on d20pfsrd and is derived from a Paizo blog FAQ posting on the subject.

And sure, just like any other situation, if you aren't threatened when you cast you don't have to cast defensively, so as long as that 5' or move action moves you from a nonthreatened area, no concentration check is required.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.