Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

How big a hole does the Quake spell in 50 Fathoms produce? The description says that those who make their save, cling to the sides and may climb out.

share|improve this question
does the spell give any indication at all of the area it effects? 50 Fathoms is one of the few settings I don't have for SW, otherwise I would check myself :) – Wibbs May 4 '12 at 20:10
The spell has a Large Burst Template area of effect. – altazu May 4 '12 at 20:24
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Savage Worlds uses a small, medium and large burst template. They measure 3, 4, and 5 inches in diameter. Page 62 of the first edition rules states one inch on the battle map is equal to 2 yards. Using that, the Quake spell, which uses the large template, produces a hole about 10 yards in diameter.

share|improve this answer
Does that mean the hole is 5 yards deep? – altazu May 5 '12 at 6:36
That's what I would say. If the blast template is a sphere then it makes sense. – MightyRocket May 5 '12 at 12:56

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.