Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can the various Artificer powers that target weapon or implement be used to affect a Monks hand/feet attacks, even though they are not a weapon like a Long Sword?

UPDATE

Thinking on it, I suppose this is for both Monk attacks with their hand as a weapon, like Melee Basic Attacks and attacks when they use an actual implement

UPDATE The Weapon reference in PHB2 and PHB3 makes it clear, You can use an unarmed attack as your weapon [ddi]

share|improve this question
    
Could you mention an example power? –  wax eagle May 7 '12 at 17:14
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 6 down vote accepted

Yes.

The Monk's Unarmed Strike is considered a weapon. As is any other Unarmed Strike (1d4 no proficiency bonus, improvised one handed melee weapon). Therefore the powers that target a weapon could be used on the "monk's unarmed strike" weapon.

If they can also target implements they should be used on the Ki Focus with which the monk is channeling his powers.

share|improve this answer
1  
Actually... anyone can perform an Unarmed Attack hastur.net/wiki/Unarmed_attack_(4E) and their hand/fist is considered a weapon. Therefore the powers that target a weapon could be used on anyone's hand... not just a Monk's. Correct? –  Bon Gart May 7 '12 at 17:33
    
Yes. Amending answer –  wax eagle May 7 '12 at 17:34
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.