Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The d20pfsrd presents variant rules for called shots here. The source information for this page claims they come from the core rules, but I can't find them in the Core Rulebook. What source can I find these rules in? Did I miss them in some Paizo book, were they carried over from 3.5e, or from somewhere else?

Secondly, the rules presented above state that "A called shot is a single attack made as a full-round action." But the feats dealing with called shots say "Normal: You can make one called shot per round as a standard action." Which of these is true? Is a typical called shot a standard or full-round action?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 4 down vote accepted
  1. The page that you linked has a copyright notice that reads "Section 15: Copyright Notice - Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Ultimate Combat". It looks like these rules are in Ultimate Combat, which is not part of the core rulebook.

  2. That's definitely a weird inconsistency. It'd probably be best to borrow the 'primary source' concept from 3.5, which says that if there's an inconsistency in rules, trust the primary source for those rules. In this case, that would mean that the general rules about called shots would take precedent over reference text in a feat. This goes double, as the "Normal" text on a feat is just supposed to be a reminder, not the source for a rule.

This typo is apparently present in the physical book. See here: http://paizo.com/forums/dmtz4816&page=10?Ultimate-Combat-errata#454 There's another answer on that errata that agrees with my answer #2.

share|improve this answer
    
Nice catch with the Copyright Notice. Can someone with the book check if this inconsistency is present in the book as well? –  dlras2 May 8 '12 at 5:23
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.