Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

From the description of Dimension Door:

After using this spell, you can’t take any other actions until your next turn.

Does this only apply to the spellcaster? If the caster brings along one or more willing creatures, then can they still have their full action in the same round that they appear? What about ready/hold an action?

Also, I would like to know whether or not this same restriction applies to other conjuration (teleportation) spells such as Greater Teleport or Refuge?

share|improve this question
up vote 8 down vote accepted

By RAW, no, it doesn't affect other creatures, though as a GM I have ruled that it does because I believe that's the spirit of that part of the spell (disorientation due to the dimensional movement, often part of teleportation in fiction).

And as the effect is not listed in other spells, it does not affect other spells. Though if you wanted to add it in, IMO it wouldn't be a bad idea, as all it would do is slightly hinder already cheesy "scry and die" attack routines.

share|improve this answer

I agree with the prior comment in that it is not explicitly written and to use the letter of the rule ("you can't") it would not affect others. However, as a DM if you feel there is too much abuse you could always say that additional travelers must spend a simple action to act in the same round as a dimension door.

share|improve this answer
What is a "simple action?" And if you mean standard action, well you have to use an action to act right? Do you mean that basically they'd get a move action? – mxyzplk May 8 '12 at 19:07
Yes, a "Standard Action" is what I meant - sorry about the crossover of terminology. And typically when I've played, a standard action could be used as a move action or one attack if you have more than one to your character, so using the "move" action to recover or the potential effectual action would be viable after but only one of the two. – CatLord May 9 '12 at 5:17

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.