Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I am building an Artificer, and I'm looking at some of his powers that give bonuses to allies. For example,

Dancing Shield. Minor action, ranged 5, Target: One Ally.

You conjure a shield of metal and magic to protect the target. The target gains a +4 power bonus to AC and Reflex until the end of the encounter. As a minor action, you can move the shield to a new target within range.

Now I can only hope that I will be able to use powers like this on myself if need be.

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 16 down vote accepted

Nope. An ally is "a companion of the power's user." [Rules Compendium, 106] Powers that can affect the caster too usually bear a "You or an ally" target line.

share|improve this answer
2  
+1. And just to intensify the answer, powers that can affect the caster too usually bear a "You or an ally" target line. –  Erik Burigo May 17 '12 at 13:21
    
@ErikBurigo Thanks. I'll edit my answer to include that. –  Jadasc May 17 '12 at 13:23
    
4e is written that there should be no rules assumptions. Powers do exactly and only what they say. –  Joshua Aslan Smith May 22 '12 at 21:06
add comment

Also, I am pretty sure there are powers with a "Target: You or one ally" entry. Your assumption would make them redundant, now wouldn't it?

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.