Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Can you use a two handed weapon with light shield?

I'm confused over the wording in [DDI] ...

Description: While you’re using a light shield, you can use your shield hand to hold another item, to climb, and the like, but you can’t make attacks with that hand or with anything in it.

Your shield hand is usable, but you can't attack with it, so a second weapon can't be used, but does that preclude the two handed weapon ?

share|improve this question
    
Maybe edit the final question in the post to more closely ask the same thing as the title question? Reading 'No' just after reading 'does that preclude the two handed weapon' is a bit confusing at first. –  Ckhrysze May 18 '12 at 15:00
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 11 down vote accepted

No

You are considered to be attacking with your second hand on the weapon.

You are holding the weapon in your other hand, thus it violates the "with anything in it" clause.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.