Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Ogremight Bruiser (Greater Style) [ddi] allows you to use some powers in place of a melee basic attack.

You can use a power associated with this feat in place of a melee basic attack when charging.

The Avalanche Hammer [ddi] works with a melee basic attack.

When you charge an enemy and hit with a melee basic attack using this weapon, the attack deals 1[W] extra damage.

Does the upgrade effect from the Ogremight mean the attack gets the extra 1[W] of damage ?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted


There are two relevant phrasings used when things are used like a basic attack.

Ogremight Bruiser says (emphasis mine):

You can use a power associated with this feat in place of a melee basic attack when charging.

By comparison, a warlock's Eldritch Blast says (emphasis mine):

This power counts as a ranged basic attack. When a power allows you to make a ranged basic attack, you can use this power.

Note the difference: Eldritch Blast is a basic attack, while an Ogremight Bruiser power is used instead of a basic attack.

share|improve this answer


The phrases, counts as and in place of are the same as far as the rules go, substitutions. The character builder supports this too, you'll find your basic attack bonuses will show up on your in place of power cards liked Wicked Strike, a fighter At-will

share|improve this answer
Do you have a rules source for this? The words themselves do not appear to be synonyms. – Simon Gill Dec 7 '12 at 10:46

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.