Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can a caster hit themself with a Blast spell? i.e. the usual example is the caster is in square A, casts a Blast 2 spell, so they could hit BCFG, FGJK, EFIJ, etc.

A  B  C  D 

E  F  G  H

I  J  K  L

But what if they were in square F ... could they cast the spell in A and hit FGIJ?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

Only with Arcane Reach

Blasts originate from the caster's square:

A blast fills an area adjacent to you that is a specified number of squares on a side.

Since you are not adjacent to yourself, you cannot target yourself by default.

However, with arcane reach:

Benefit: When using a close arcane attack power, you can choose a square within 2 squares of yours as the origin square. The power still follows the rules for close attacks.

You may absolutely use a square within two squares such that you are caught in the blast. When combined with thunder or psychic resistance, this is a fantastic way to use thunderwave or beguiling strands to rocketjump.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.