Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Dread Weapon:

Property On a critical hit the target takes the weapon’s enhancement bonus as a penalty to defenses and checks until the end of your next turn.

Is an attack a "check" for purposes of this penalty?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted

It seems yes because of attacks are (as you already figured) checks.

From the Rules Compendium, page 22 and 23.

Does a sword swing hurt the dragon or just bounce off its iron-hard scales? Will the ogre believe an outrageous bluff, or can a character swim across a raging river?
This simple rule governs most Dungeons & Dragons play. Three types of come up in most session of the game: attack rolls, skill checks and ability checks.

And again, at page 24.

An attack roll is a kind of check that occurs in every battle, where the target number for the check is the defense of a target.

Note that, conversely, saving throws are not checks (in 4th edition). They are a simple d20 roll that is succeeded on 10 or more. They don't get modifiers from level or ability bonuses.

share|improve this answer
Oddly, saving throws aren't checks in 3.5 either even though they get bonuses and are set against different DCs. But then, neither are attack rolls in 3.5. – KRyan Apr 12 '14 at 5:38

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.