Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I know there is an answer similar to this at Is there a limit to the number of times you can multiclass?, but I want to know if one can multiclass twice in the same class. The rules seem weird to me; quoting from the PHB:

There are two restrictions on your choice of a class-specific multiclass feat. First, you can't take a multiclass feat for your own class. Second, once you take a multiclass feat, you can't take a class-specific feat for a different class. You can dabble in a second class, but not a third.

So as an example, let's say I am a Bladesinger who took Sneak of Shadows for my multiclass Rogue. Could I take Ruthless Efficiency in addition, if I qualified?

share|improve this question
up vote 7 down vote accepted


Multiclass feats are restricted to a certain class, not to one and only one feat. While the evidence from the character builder suggests yes. There also seems to be nothing in the wording of multiclass restrictions to dispute this interpretation. There seem to be no contrary opinions on the forums, either.

share|improve this answer
Interesting. I suppose it then becomes weird that technically, one could multiclass into Warlord many times getting practically every basic benefit for each Warlord type (Bravura, Resourceful, etc) while also being able to get an Inspiring warlord going. – zapoqx May 22 '12 at 18:49
It's also a complete waste of feats. The multiclass feats are not actually all that useful. But you cannot multiclass into your own class. – Brian Ballsun-Stanton May 22 '12 at 18:54
Perhaps it is a waste of feats, but if someone did it, its their choice. Just wanted to see if its technically legal to do or not. Thanks. I'll give this question some more time though just in case. – zapoqx May 22 '12 at 19:28
@BrianBallsun-Stanton there are some MC feats that are decent on their own - the Barbarian MC granting daily +2 damage for an encounter, and the Heroes of the Feywild Battle Berserker Barbarian MC both add some nice extra oomph to a Slayer. – Simon Withers May 23 '12 at 0:48
Also, I should probably clarify I meant an Inspiring Warlord with Inspiring Word, not an actual warlord for the class. And yes Simon, that would be hella fantastic for a Slayer. – zapoqx May 23 '12 at 2:53

I may be incorrect, but since taking a multi-class feat gives you "that class" for the purpose of feats and power-swap feats, I would assume that you can't take two Rogue multi-class feats because of the "First, you can't take a multiclass feat for your own class" wording.

share|improve this answer
I guess my confusion comes in more because of the "Monastic Adept" since its prerequisite is any monk multiclass feat, yet it falls under being a "Multiclass Monk" tag. That is why it has me wondering if the "First, you can't take a multiclass feat for your own class" becomes weird if you take a feat that has the recursive need for a multiclass of the class. – zapoqx May 22 '12 at 18:43
@zapoqx even if this rule is correct, that feat is definitely ok. Looks like Brian has the right of it though... – wax eagle May 22 '12 at 18:53

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.