Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can two players characters occupy the same square if one is prone? - assuming they are both medium size

And what happens when the prone character stands up?

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

Yes they can.

Page 205 of the Rules Compendium reads:

Ally: A creature can enter an ally's space, but it can end its move in an ally's space only if that ally is prone.


Prone Creatures: A prone creature that ends up in the same square as another creature has two main options for moving itself out of that square: crawl or stand up.

When the prone character stands up he gets a free shift (well it's part of the move action he is already taking) into an adjacent square (Rules Compendium, p.250).

share|improve this answer
I agree, but looking at the Rules Compendium, it's the section about standing up as a Move Action. Is there anything explicit on the effects if there are two characters, one of which is Prone, e.g. are they both Squeezed ? – SteveC May 24 '12 at 20:20
As there appears to be no rule for this, both are normal (there would have to be an exception that states "x happens when creatures share a space"). P205 of the RC allows moving into an ally's space explicitly. – wax eagle May 25 '12 at 1:12
Ah ha, that's spot on ... "only if the ally is prone" – SteveC May 25 '12 at 6:15

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.