Take the 2-minute tour ×
Role-playing Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for gamemasters and players of tabletop, paper-and-pencil role-playing games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In the bestiary for the new D&D Next playtest packets, some creatures look as though they get multiple attacks per round.

e.g.: An owl bear gets Melee Attack: Claws +5/+5 (etc.) and Bite +5 (etc.) along with a special power says that if both claw attacks hit, then extra damage is done.

However, the basic rules don't seem to cover this situation. I can't tell if the owlbear is able to use both claws AND bite in one action, or if it can only use one claw OR a bite, or 2 claws OR A bite.

So, do monsters get multiple attacks per action? And what are the rules for the owl bear, or other monsters that have a +x/+x description for an attack?

One possible way to answer this question would be to explain how this worked in earlier editions of D&D. If you can tell from the rules test how this is supposed to work, that would be a better answer.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 5 down vote accepted

It gets all the attacks. In earlier pre-3e editions that kind of notation meant simply that the monster got all those attacks, and I'm sure that's the intent in D&D Next. In 3e and later there were more complex action types but those are not in 5e (yet).

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.